Blackjack and Card Counting Forums - BlackjackInfo.com

  #11  
Old October 30th, 2011, 09:32 PM
Severity8's Avatar
Severity8 Severity8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 147
Send a message via Yahoo to Severity8
Default

yes yes but did you get the Rum???
  #12  
Old October 30th, 2011, 09:38 PM
FLASH1296's Avatar
FLASH1296 FLASH1296 is offline
Executive Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: East Coast, U S A
Posts: 3,749
Send a message via ICQ to FLASH1296 Send a message via AIM to FLASH1296
Default

mikeyd . . . You said

"The tables had signs saying something like Double only on 11 or less,
but they allowed me to double on soft hands"


What that actually means (in practice) is that you can double on any 2 cards;
however, IF you double a soft hand you may be in for a rude surprise.

When, e.g., your Ace-4 receives a 5 you will have a total of 10, not 20.

They said that you can "only double on 11 or less"; therefore you had
doubled with a total of 5, not 15. You cannot have a total of 20 because
WHEN you doubled you had, (in effect), unwittingly declared your hand
to be eligible for a double, by virtue of its being "less than 11". The Ace
does NOT get upgraded. If that were permissible, then there would be
NO purpose in having the restriction posted. This is absolutely NOT facetious.
  #13  
Old October 31st, 2011, 04:20 PM
Dyepaintball12's Avatar
Dyepaintball12 Dyepaintball12 is offline
Executive Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 1,547
Default

I just saw "The Rum Diary" and it looks like all the real money to be made in P.R. is at the Cock Fights!
  #14  
Old November 6th, 2011, 08:48 PM
mikeyd mikeyd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLASH1296 View Post
mikeyd . . . You said

"The tables had signs saying something like Double only on 11 or less,
but they allowed me to double on soft hands"


What that actually means (in practice) is that you can double on any 2 cards;
however, IF you double a soft hand you may be in for a rude surprise.

When, e.g., your Ace-4 receives a 5 you will have a total of 10, not 20.

They said that you can "only double on 11 or less"; therefore you had
doubled with a total of 5, not 15. You cannot have a total of 20 because
WHEN you doubled you had, (in effect), unwittingly declared your hand
to be eligible for a double, by virtue of its being "less than 11". The Ace
does NOT get upgraded. If that were permissible, then there would be
NO purpose in having the restriction posted. This is absolutely NOT facetious.
Thanks Flash.
Glad I learned that here rather than at the table.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Forum Software vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005-2011 Bayview Strategies LLC