How to learn Zen Count?

Hi.
I wouild like to learn Zen Count - I have Arnold Snyder's "Blackbelt in Blackjack" book, but I have found that Zengrifter adviced not to learn from this book, so I ask if You could guide me to some topics about how to lern Zen Count, or prowide any tips etc.
[You have to believe me ;) - I have searched this forum, but I couldn't find any information, excetp this: http://www.blackjackforumonline.com/content/Zen_Count_Indices.htm ].
I would be grateful for any advices.
Mark.

P.S Sorry for my english - I know it's far from perfect.

Last edited:
I'm new to it but have noticed Zen to be similar to Hi/Lo but with more edge in the neutral or lower counts. Seems helpful that it tracks sevens as +1.

Seven seems to be a fairly powerful card for the dealer.

Anyway from what i know (blind leading the blind) Zen is a level two count. Thus the running count should fluctuate about twice as much as Hi/Lo. This needs to be accounted for when doing the True Count conversion.

I'm still not using it at the tables because I'm so quick at Hi/Lo it that doesn't seem worth the risk of making the switch at this point in time. However I'm learning to count Zen better and better each day on the trainer. Part of it seems to be grouping +2 cards with -2 cards.

Like 4, 5, 6 negates J, Q, 10.

Previously I'd have counted the above cards as

Plus one Plus one Plus one Plus one Plus one Plus one

Minus one Minus one Minus one Minus one Minus one Minus one

Takes too many brain cells.

These days I'm just beginning to feel really comfortable at the tables and don't want to rock the boat.

Last edited:

rollem411

For the Zen system:

2,3,7 = +1

4,5,6 = +2

8,9 = 0

T,J,Q,K = +2

A = -1

Just practice counting and stick with this forum daily. Everyone is willing to help with anything and has helped me plenty so far and I've only been a member for a couple weeks.

http://www.qfit.com/card-counting.htm