Best Card Counting Strategy for Atlantic City Rules

Hello,

I asked a question here once before and got some very helpful answers, so here's another one :)

I've read one book on counting ("Blackjack for Blood", Bryce Carlson) and am still working on the technique. The technique he recommends for multiple-deck is something called "Advanced Omega II"

I'm a software developer and (of course) am writing a program, for fun, to teach myself the strategy, but I wonder, is this the best strategy for me to learn?

In other words: what is the best counting strategy for playing in Atlantic City, NJ?

I'm sure there are already other programs out there, and I know I won't get rich counting, but it's a fun exercise to try to do both. Thanks!

WABJ11

If you are just starting out I would recommend an unbalanced count such as Red 7 or KO. Hi-Lo is ok, but for multi deck games you have to do division at the tables to find the true count based on your running count. This can get complicated and confusing. No division is required for an unbalanced count.

blackjacktilt

WABJ11 said:
If you are just starting out I would recommend an unbalanced count such as Red 7 or KO. Hi-Lo is ok, but for multi deck games you have to do division at the tables to find the true count based on your running count. This can get complicated and confusing. No division is required for an unbalanced count.

What he means by division is running count by decks left in the shoe. It's not an exact science, but accurate enough for a beginner. Units same as TC or close to it (whatever your bankroll can handle).
And I would recommend hi/lo, then move on.

beating vegas

rebelBodhi said:
Hello,

I asked a question here once before and got some very helpful answers, so here's another one :)

I've read one book on counting ("Blackjack for Blood", Bryce Carlson) and am still working on the technique. The technique he recommends for multiple-deck is something called "Advanced Omega II"