A question of Spanish 21?

LordDante

Where can i find a BS chart for Spanish 21.

A second question, does the same counting systems as normal blackjack work for spanish 21 if not, what do i use?

thank you (im new to blackjack)

callipygian

shadroch said:
so using a count like hi-lo becomes an unbalanced count,while traditionally unbalanced counts become balanced instead.
Most unbalanced counts I can think of are unbalanced in the low card heavy direction. Removing the pip 10's should make Red 7 and KO more unbalanced, not less unbalanced. As a matter of fact, removing the pip 10's should put the pivots for both Red 7 and KO well out of the useful range (+6 and +8, respectively). Hi-Lo becomes an unbalanced system with a +4 pivot.

Am I missing something?

21forme

Using KO would be a big mistake because the EOR of 7 is almost zero in Sp21. There are both balanced and unbalanced counts for Sp21. If you want to learn one that's published, buy the book (go to lulu.com and do a search on Walker.)

DonR

Just recently I played Spanish a few times, pretty much because I couldn't find a seat at a cheaper BJ table, and there always seems to be more available seats at Spanish 21. Didn't do too bad, I followed BS from wizardofodds.com site, and over all broke even, or so.

I am thinking of notching it up and adding some of the counting techniques into it. I have learned, from messages here, about Katarina Walker's book and that seems to be a good investment. In the meantime, just to get a basic idea of what to expect if I go this way, a few basic questions for those of you who play this game more often:

- would one of the counting systems still be hi-lo?
- if so, do you make it a balanced system by counting 2's as a neutral card (zero)?
- in an 8D game, assuming you are using hi-lo, do you start counting from -32 (TC of -4)?
- if so, what would typically be the breaking point in TC, when the player starts having the edge. TC of -3, or higher?

FLASH1296

Span 21 B.S.