Question about PE and Indicies

ace157

If a system has a high BC but a low PE which of the the following would be more true.....

1) learning indexes would compensate for the system's lack of PE

- or -

2) the indexes would be less accurate due to the defficient PE

ace157

does the same hold true if the system's PE was figured w/o indexes? IE: i am playing around with some new tags, and when i calculated the PE (via the efficiency calculator on this site), the indexes were not figured in yet. thus, my question is about the accuracy of the indexes that hav yet to be created (via CVdata).

NOTE: the answer is "NO", if the PE was calculated prior to having indexes, then the PE would would increase when the indexes were added

Last edited:

Deathclutch

Krak3d said:
What's BC and PE? I'm new to this stuff:eek:
BC is how accurate your count is on telling you when to place out different sized bets, and we're actually having a discussion right in chat determining what exactly PE is but you can think of it as how accurate your count is on telling you to deviate from basic strategy.

ace157

Krak3d said:
What's BC and PE? I'm new to this stuff:eek:
from CVdata (ToBJ): Playing Efficiency - PE indicates how well a card counting system handles changes in playing strategy. Playing efficiency is particularly important in hand-held games (one or two decks.) The best you can do without side counts is about .70 (70% of perfect.)

Betting Correlation - BC is defined as the correlation between card point values and the effect of removal of cards. It is used to predict how well a card counting system predicts good betting situations and can approach 1.00 (100% correlation.) BC is particularly important in shoe games (six or eight decks.)