Unfortunate TC +5 outcome

blackjackomaha

Hey all! I've been playing for a couple years (since i turned 21) and to-date, am positive from when I began. Here are the rules for the games I've been playing: 6 Decks, H17, DD allowed after split, split cards up to 4x ('cept Aces split once), and roughly 90% penetration (I've come to notice certain dealers will only cut off 1/2 deck, and make sure to play those). Every $10+ game is also hand-shuffled.

It was back/forth, and I was up 5 units ($20/unit) after 2 hours. The TC (I currently use Hi-Lo) never went above +1 until the last shoe I played. During this last shoe, the TC hit +5 with roughly 2 decks remaining. Unfortunately, I took a slight hit when the cards were at their best. I was at first base, and had my maximum bet ($100) out. The dealer had a 6 showing. I was dealt a pair of 7's. I split them, and received a 2 - doubled down for a hand total of 19. On my other 7, I received an A. I doubled, receiving a 10 for a second hand total of 18. There were 4 other players, and each had a stiff. The guy sitting at 3rd base had been iffy on his plays all night (ie, asking what he should do, and had taken all advice given). He had been dealt a 9-3, and I, along with every player and the dealer, tried to explain the proper play was to stand. He argued that he lost the majority of the hands he listened to us on, and demanded to hit. I then offered to pay his minimum bet if he stayed (effectively giving him no loss). He rebuffed my offer and hit. Naturally, he received a J, busting his hand. Dealer flips his card, shows a Q for a total of 16. Next card - 4. Table loss (as the highest hand on the table was 18).

Fail.