Question About Basic Strategy

I've been playing blackjack for a few years now, and have the basic strategy down pat. A question, though. As we know, the strategy is to double when you have an Ace showing and the dealer has a 10 up. My question: Why do you NOT double when you have an Ace and the dealer also has an Ace, but no blackjack? We know the dealer doesn't have a 10, so it seems to me it makes just as much sense, mathematically, to double in the second scenario as it does in the first. I don't do it, by the way, because I trust the accuracy of the Basic Strategy computations... but it always makes me wonder. Thoughts?

ortango

There are several reasons for this, but one is that double opportunities are profitable not only due to probability of player pat hands but also because the dealer is more likely to bust. If you include Blackjacks, the dealer only busts an Ace a meager 12% of the time, and only 17% when they dont have a natural. However, a dealer 10 busts 22% of the time. Also, although a dealer ten will get a pat 20 over 1/3 of the time, the A is more likely to get the other pat hands and twice as likely to get a 21 then a 10. In fact, the dealer 10 is gives him the lowest chance for a 21, a meager 3%, when you exclude his naturals, while you have almost a 1/3 chance of getting 21 with a A double!

You should know though that its not a humongous mistake to double on A v A, as the index for this play is only +1, compared to doubling 10 v 10 which is a rare +4. A v A double opportunities will come out but you obviously won't see it if you are not a counter. Got time for a new hobby?

Regards,
:cow:

bobsmith said: