The Best Poker Books?

Hi,

I'd appreciate your thoughts on which are some good poker books to buy. Personally my fav BJ book is BJ Bluebook II. Could someone tell me some poker books which are written in the same style and depth? I've played poker before and am not a complete beginner but all I know are the rules and the rank of the hands. I've done well playing poker 'cause usually fold unless I have something worth playing but I really want to learn the "Basic Strategy" of the game.

I'm thinking of buying "Winning Low-Limit Hold'em" by Lee Jones. Is that any good? Can anyone recommend something better?

Thanks,

Sophocles

ScottH

My recomendations would be Championship No Limit and Pot Limit Hold em(something like that) by TJ Cloutier and Harrington on Hold em. Those books are really easy to read, unlike anything by Sklanksy. TJ Cloutier explains good poker and doesnt go into much math. After you learn the basics you can move on to the more technical books, that are also more boring.

Thanks

Thanks guys for recommendations.

I've purchased Winning Low-Limit Hold'em and Middle Limit Holdem Poker. When I'm done with those I'll check out some of ur recommendations.

I like the idea of advancing into poker 'cause there are so few opportunities for blackjack in my area.

Thanks,

Sophocles

ortango

Recently Arnold Snyder, who we all know is a BJ legend wrote the Poker Tournament Formula. It is amazing how much he knows about poker with all the BJ floating around in his brain. I have found it extremely powerful for fast tournaments. One of the things he makes very obvious is that one strategy does not even remotely fit the other. For example, cash play and tournament play, and slow tournament and fast tournament play. I am a poker rookie but I can say I am very confident with fast tournament play after reading his book.

Sites, Playrooms?

Are there any really good websites that I should definitely check out on poker? I've found quite a few but nothing spectacular.