Newbie to card counting with some questions

Hi, first off sadly I am a noob to counting. I have read a lot on here and plenty of other places. Basically I want to use the Hi Lo system in a double deck game, Dealer Hits soft 17, only DD 9-10-11, No DD after SP. Here are some of my noob questions....

1) What does the count need to be at to start increasing my bets? Also what is a normal spread?

2) What do you do if you lose count? Just flat bet until new shoe?

3) Probably a really noob question but, if the count is high, doesnt that give the dealer just as good of a chance at hitting a big hand?

4) Is there a positon on the table that gives you the most time to make sure you get an accurate count?

5) more of a double deck question, is 3 players optimal or is that just coincidence that I do better then?

sagefr0g

R O O N E Y said:
Hi, first off sadly I am a noob to counting. I have read a lot on here and plenty of other places. Basically I want to use the Hi Lo system in a double deck game, Dealer Hits soft 17, only DD 9-10-11, No DD after SP. Here are some of my noob questions....

1) What does the count need to be at to start increasing my bets? Also what is a normal spread?
plus one is good, the trick is how much to raise your bets, this depends on your bankroll, risk tolerance and what is optimal with respect to the advantage. a good simulator can figure that out for you.
2) What do you do if you lose count? Just flat bet until new shoe?
yes, or stop playing temporarily.
3) Probably a really noob question but, if the count is high, doesnt that give the dealer just as good of a chance at hitting a big hand?
yes, but the good news is, the dealer can't split, double down and doesn't receive 3:2 pay for snappers, you do.
4) Is there a positon on the table that gives you the most time to make sure you get an accurate count?
at third base you may end up with more info for making basic strategy departures but no position will help you for betting decisions.