KO vs. Omega II

Deathclutch

fsscout said:
Thanks, I used Omega II before my long blackjack layoff (15 yrs) and struggled with it now that I started playing again. Need more practice time. I was just wondering if KO was a good count to use for the short term until I get up to speed or if a simple plus minus count works just as well or better.
KO will work just fine and is a respected count, although it's mainly for shoes. I wouldn't recommend it for double or single deck.

aslan

Deathclutch said:
KO will work just fine and is a respected count, although it's mainly for shoes. I wouldn't recommend it for double or single deck.
Why not? At plus four it is identical to plus four true count. The range within which a KO counter would begin betting more than the minimum bet is basically the same range as HiLo and other popular balanced counting systems. Also, KO plus three, the count at which one opts for insurance, is identical to true count plus three for all intents and purposes. If you are talking about more than the basic 18 indexes, I can see an advantage to a balanced count converted to true count. But do you need more that the Illustrious 18 to beat DD and SD games?

aslan

I know the stats give a slight advantage to other counts over KO for DD and SD, but are the differences that meaningful in practical terms? I'm just asking.

Deathclutch

aslan said:
Why not? At plus four it is identical to plus four true count. The range within which a KO counter would begin betting more than the minimum bet is basically the same range as HiLo and other popular balanced counting systems. Also, KO plus three, the count at which one opts for insurance, is identical to true count plus three for all intents and purposes. If you are talking about more than the basic 18 indexes, I can see an advantage to a balanced count converted to true count. But do you need more that the Illustrious 18 to beat DD and SD games?