Continued losing- Having trouble coping with the losses

KewlJ

without knowing any other details of John Crover's play, these swings mentioned, going from $9100 down to $2000 and then back up to just shy of $9000 and then seemingly just a few hours later down to $4500 indicates severe overbetting of this limited bankroll.

I am not a math expert type. I leave that stuff to Don and others. But doesn't the math formula that betting more than 2x Kelly guarantees one outcome....RUIN?

If you are serious about this "experiment" you have to start playing by and within the mathematics of the game.

KewlJ

KewlJ said:
I am not a math expert type. I leave that stuff to Don and others. But doesn't the math formula that betting more than 2x Kelly guarantees one outcome....RUIN?
Not specific to this or any other situation, I want to expand on this concept, because I have always been interested in how another popular blackjack bankroll concept, the "hail Mary bankroll", seems to completely contradict this "guarantee".

MrFatCat

KewlJ said:
Not specific to this or any other situation, I want to expand on this concept, because I have always been interested in how another popular blackjack bankroll concept, the "hail Mary bankroll", seems to completely contradict this "guarantee".
That was your starting situation IIRC, have you ever gone back and done the math on what your ROR was?

London Colin

KewlJ said:
I have always been interested in how another popular blackjack bankroll concept, the "hail Mary bankroll", seems to completely contradict this "guarantee".
Surely the guarantee assumes continual bet resizing. If every bet you ever make is more than 2x the Kelly fraction of whatever your current bankroll is at the time, then you must eventually go broke.

KewlJ

MrFatCat said:
That was your starting situation IIRC, have you ever gone back and done the math on what your ROR was?