How much is the Illustrious 18 really worth?

hopson77

As I've said before, I'm a relative noob to AP, but I'm getting there. I've got BS down, and I'm using simple Hi-Lo. I know BS leaves roughly a 0.5% advantage for the house.

The 3 big plays in the I18 are roughly 60% of the advantage you get from using I18, and knowing when to take insurance is half of that 60%. It makes sense to me that making the right I18 plays in higher counts is more advantageous than in lower counts because there is more money on the table, but at the same time you will run into lower good TC's than higher TC's.

All of this having been said, what's the percentage gain from using the I18?

Many thanks!

hopson77

Thanks, Sonny. I appreciate the link.

I understand the concept of standard deviation, but it's been a loonnngg time since I've had to calculate it. EV = something like $ put in play times your advantage (or disadvantage), correct? How might I calculate standard deviation for how I play based on all the variables that get thrown in?

I really do appreciate all the help, guys. Hopefully soon I'll be able to be a true AP.

Sonny

hopson77 said:
EV = something like $ put in play times your advantage (or disadvantage), correct?
Right on. EV = Advantage * Money

hopson77 said:
How might I calculate standard deviation for how I play based on all the variables that get thrown in?
SD is a bit trickier. As a general guidelilne you can multiply the square root of the number of hands by 1.33. For example:

SD for 1 hour = 1.33 * sqrt(100 hands per hour) = 13.3 units per hour
SD for 5 hours = 1.33 * sqrt(500) = 29.7 units

The SD will depend greatly on your playing style so the formula above is just a general estimation. A more accurate answer would require a computer simulation. For most games your hourly SD will be around 26 units.

-Sonny-

sagefr0g

Sonny said:
The SD will depend greatly on your playing style so the formula above is just a general estimation.
-Sonny-